How does the Google Contact Sync work? [FAQ]

Last Updated: Aug 22, 2013 10:30AM CDT
From time to time we get different questions about how the Google Contact sync works. Below we've outlined some of the most frequently asked questions. If you still have any questions, just let us know.


How often does the sync occur?
The Google sync occurs every 10-15 minutes.

If I add or update a contact to Google, will that contact be added to my Base account?
Yes, if you add a contact in Google to the Base CRM contact group, it will be synced to your Base account.


If I delete a contact in Google will it be deleted in Base?
Yes, if you delete a contact in Google, it will then be deleted in Base. However, if there is a deal attached to that particular contact, it will not be deleted.


If I add a contact to Base, will it be added to my Google Contacts?
Yes, if you add a contact to Base, it will appear in the Base CRM Google Contact group.


If I update or delete a contact in Base, will it be deleted in my Google Contacts?
No, Base will never delete any of your Google contacts as the integration does not ask for "rewrite" permissions from Google. This also means that if a contact is modified in Base these modifications will not extend to Google Contacts.


I added the Google Contact sync, but then I deleted all of my contacts in Base, how can I trigger that "initial" sync again so all of my Google Contacts are pulled into Base?
After the initial sync with Google, Base will only pull in new contacts that you add to Google. When a contact is deleted in Base, we don't continue to add it to your account (this would get frustrating). If we did this, you'd delete a contact and it would show up in Base 15 minutes later. One downside of this is that if you delete all of the Base contacts, they won't be pulled back in from Google. If your Base account is new, we recommend canceling the account and re-opening it to reset the sync. If you already have an active Base account, please email the support team for assistance.


Do the Base tags/Google contact group names sync?
No, when a contact is added from Google, its automatically tagged with the Google Contact group it came from. This is a one time assignment. If the contact is moved to a different group, the tag will not be renamed to reflect the new group. The tags are simply to help you identify which group they came from in the first place and to help you quickly filter your contacts.

Do Companies in Base sync to Google?
No, only Base contacts are synced to Google. The individual company cards are not synced to Google as Google only supports individual Contact Cards. 

Contact Us

Got an idea for improving Base?

We'd love to hear about it. Please visit our idea forum where you can submit ideas and vote on others